Zephaniah 3:17

blog101

Some days are just plain bad days.  We all have them and we all hate them.  St. Philomena had them too.

There are those days you wake up, say your morning prayers but don’t feel God.  Then you get ready and you get out the door.  You get to school (or work) and something upsets you.  You move on.  Then something else happens.  And something else.  Before you know it, you are having a terrible day when you thought it was going to be just another day.

St. Philomena was a human just like you and me.  When I read about saints sometimes I only see the good, only see God working miracles through them, only see them serving Him in a seemingly perfect way.  However, it is important to remember that St. Philomena had terrible days too and that she didn’t always get along with everyone and see Jesus in every situation.

Today someone read this verse to me and I realized why I have to go through all the trials and hardships.  God is soooo much bigger than my pop quiz and my bad math test score.  Not only that, but He delights in me!  He loves me despite my bad scores and crummy days.  On top of all that, He quiets my soul with His love.  Can we ask for anything more?

Lord, I thank you for this day, despite the trials, the hardships, the people who brought me pain, and the suffering I endured.  I ask that you quiet my soul and still it with your peace.  Thank you for rejoicing over me.  Help me to praise you every day.  Amen.

 -Courtney C. Filomena Lee

Leave a Reply

