Passing through the waters

blog103

St. Philomena not only passed through the waters, angels freed her from the anchor around her neck and brought her onto dry land in front of a crowd or nonbelievers.

We all pass through our own “waters”.  Be it a difficult person, an uncomfortable situation, a grief we endure, or anything else, God is with us when we are overwhelmed.  He tells us not only that, but also that He’ll keep us from being burned when we walk through fire.  While’s it’s cool to imagine walking through a real fire, I think this could refer to the immortality of our world.  God will let us walk in it, but He won’t let it burn our souls.

Do you think of yourself as precious in God’s eyes?  Today is the feast of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe.  Do you believe the King of the Universe loves you and considers you precious even when He has the whole world at His fingertips?  Sounds way too good to be true.  But it is the truth.  He called us, He knows us.

Pope Benedict XVI said, “We are not some casual and meaningless product of evolution.  Each of us is the result of a thought of God.”  I love that quote.  It reminds me that God loves me and, because He loves me, He will be with me when I pass through the waters.

Lord Jesus, you are the King of the Universe.  On this, your feast day, I ask that you be King of my heart.  Be with me as I pass through the waters, especially as I face (your trial).  I know that I am precious in your eyes, even when I sin against you.  Thank you for loving me.  I want to love you the same way.

-Courtney C. Filomena Lee

Leave a Reply

