In like a lion…

This picture perfectly describes my life right now.  Just when you think, “Warmth!” there is a subzero day coming up.

I had never heard the saying about March coming in like a lion and leaving like a lamb.  When I heard that, I had to smile because it is so fitting.  We had an inch and a half of rain yesterday on top of our 6+ inches of snow then it was single digits today with more snow.

So you probably don’t care much about my weather report, but this is all going to relate back to a hopefully inspiring post at some point.  All this freezing and strange weather has allowed me a lot of time at home, serving my family and spending a little more time talking to Jesus.

Serving is one of those things that I don’t think about most of the time.  I do it, usually with some complaints, but not lately.  There are times I don’t want to serve, that I don’t want to labor or struggle for others.  As we all have heard though, we don’t serve people, we serve a God that is worthy of everything we have to offer and more.

Pope Francis sums it up, “The world tells us to seek success, power, and money; God tells us to seek humility, service, and love.”

Lord Jesus, I ask for a heart of service.  I want to show Your light to others and serve them as You would have me serve them.  Give me the grace to serve tirelessly and keep my eyes fixed on You the whole time.  Amen.
Leave a Reply

