Glory in the Lord

blog109

Jeremiah is one of my favorite books in the Bible.

I love rediscovering Bible verses that I previously underlined and this was one of those.  To me, it touches on one of the most important aspects on humanity: selfishness/selflessness.

St. Philomena, despite being asked to marry the most powerful man on earth, didn’t get a big head.  She was a beautiful and sweet princess.  She could have gloried in her beauty, her kindness, or her royal bloodlines, but she chose to give the glory to God by suffering and dying for Him.

We are to give glory to Him only, no matter how awesome we think we are.  I love the people I know that I give God the glory when someone compliments them.  I’ll admit sometimes it comes across as cheesy, but it is the most beautiful thing when you know it is genuine.

One of the best parts of this passage is the second part where the Lord says that He is one who practices “steadfast love, justice, and righteousness.”  We glorify a God who loves us more than we can even imagine.  No more encouragement should be needed!

Lord Jesus, give me the ability to recognize You in every single one of my accomplishments and talents.  Let me never fall into selfishness again.  I want to follow You in the path of selfless love.  I want everything I do to be for Your glory.  I ask this through the intercession of Your Mother as I pray Hail Mary…

-Courtney C. Filomena Lee

Leave a Reply

