Be Known

Stumbled across Psalm 139 while praying this morning…

“O Lord, you have searched me and known me!” (1)

I guess sometimes I forget that the Lord truly knows me.  Better than I know myself.  Better than anyone could ever know me.  He knew me before I was born.  He planned that I would be here when I am, born into the family that I belong too, friends with the people that I am friends with, writing a blog post about all these things.  :)

“I praise you, for I am wondrously made.  Wonderful are your works.” (14)

Isn’t it beautiful when you stop and contemplate the intricacy of your life?  Now, I’m not a poet by any stretch of the imagination so this is going to sound a little crude maybe and not as philosophical as I would like it to, but here it goes…

Lately it has really hit me how every single tiny detail of my life has led me to become the person that I am now.  I had thought about this before, but it has been particularly obvious to me lately.  If I had done anything differently, maybe St. Philomena: The Story of a Stubborn Little Princess wouldn’t have been published.  That is one of thousands of examples.  But now that I have come to see this intricacy, the hand of God is more evident than ever.  And not just in my life, but in those around me.  So many circumstances control my life, but I rarely stop and think about who is overseeing those circumstances.  While we all have free will, God has a plan for each and every one of us, whether or not we realize it.

St. Faustina wrote in her diary, “True love of God consists in carrying out God’s will.  To show God our love in what we do, all our actions, even the least, must spring from our love of God.”  I thought that quote was beautiful and at least somewhat related to this post.  :)

Lord Jesus, I desire to know Your plan for my life.  Thank You for all the guidance and grace You have already given me.  I ask for that same guidance and grace today and always.  Be my Light and my Guide.  Amen.

-Courtney C. Filomena Lee

Leave a Reply

