Rest in the Nothing

“Silent Compassion” by Richard Rohr has changed my life and I wanted to share a quote from this book.

51Sm+GO8OrL._SX421_BO1,204,203,200_

What we do know is that all things are a ‘creatio ex nihilo,’ that every something, by God’s plan, first comes from nothing!  If you can first rest in the nothing, you will then be prepared to appreciate the something.  When nothing creates something, we call it grace!

This quote illustrates exactly what we need to apply in our own lives: silence and nothingness.  We need to embrace that time of nothingness so that we can more fully experience God’s grace.

This book is a wonderful and entertaining read.  I absolutely love the author’s writing style.  I haven’t finished yet, but I have learned far more than I expected to when I ordered it.  The topic of silence is one that isn’t covered as well as it should be.  Richard Rohr explains the Church’s teachings as well as presenting silence as something wonderful and beautiful that we should all be seeking.

“For God alone my soul waits in silence, for my hope is from Him.”  ~Psalm 62:5

Lord, today we ask You for the grace we need to be still and know that You alone are God.  Let everything around us fade away and let us see hear only Your voice through the silence.  Amen.

-Courtney C. Filomena Lee

Leave a Reply

