Ask the Author (#1)

Welcome to Ask the Author!  This is our first question:

“Can you show me the picture of your St. Philomena that is still smiling?” -Filomena, age 11

When I was in Kentucky, I told a story to the youth groups about a picture I have of St. Philomena.  When I was about seven-years-old, my godparents visited St. Philomena’s shrine in Italy and brought back a print of her photo, the one on the cover of my book.  It illustrates St. Philomena in prison.  Well, as a seven-year-old, I remember thinking, “This is a really awful picture!”  St. Philomena was not only in prison, but she was frowning.  Severely.

To try to balance the frown, my mom and I decorated the picture with flowers and sparkly ribbon, as you will see in the pictures below.  I was seven and, when you’re seven, flowers and sparkles seem to be able to fix most thing.  :)

Despite the frown, I prayed in front of the picture every night.  One day, after praying very hard about something that was happening at the time, I returned to my room to find that the picture was no longer frowning, but SMILING.

I called my mom into the room and she asked me, “What did you do to the picture???”  I told her that I hadn’t done anything, and we decided to kneel down and pray in front of the picture.  From that time on, even though the flowers and sparkles seem a little silly, I haven’t changed the picture at all.  It was truly a miracle in my life.  Of course, it was the inspiration for the cover of the book as well.

So here are the photos I took of my picture of St. Philomena:

philomena-picture-cropped-2016

philomena-cropped-close-2016

I hope you will all take the time to check out the Ask the Author section and submit your questions!  Thank you, Filomena, for your question!

One thought on “Ask the Author (#1)

Leave a Reply

